Batteries cost like 11 bucks!

Another lesson learned in the high price of existence. My oldest decided to venture out and buy himself some new batteries for the MP3 player his Parents were so kind to buy him for Christmas (and who had been paying for said batteries up until recently) he was shocked at how much they cost. He walked out without buying them as he’s running dangerously close to empty in his wallet at the moment (true payday isn’t until next Saturday)

Ah yes young grasshopper, the things that juice up your MP3 player are freaking expensive. As are the lights you leave on all over the house so it’s lit up like a night game at the Nat, the food you carelessly leave on the counter to spoil when it’s barely touched, oh yes my dear Son I could go on and on.

“Yanno Mom, I think I’m finally getting an appreciation about how much things actually cost!”

FREAKING music to my ears!! Of course I will believe the lesson has been truly learned when the lights are turned off, the food or drink put back in the ‘fridge when you’ve taken your serving etc etc etc.

What is cute however, is how he’s already planning his Christmas shopping. Shows my lessons were sinking in on how much nicer it feels to get something for someone else than to buy things for yourself, at least when you really put an effort into it and buy something where it’s KILLING you for them to open it. He’s picking out the cat’s gifts…well hey it’s a start!

Sean had another day with no school, still no resolution in the strike thing. Not good when your Kids should be yanno, learning stuff, instead they are staring at the tube or playing video games. Good thing he’s an intelligent Kid so he won’t fall too far behind.

My business travel was starting to be arranged today. I’ve registered for my conference and I’ve asked our Dept Assistant to book the travel stuff (as per Dept policy) Still don’t have confirmation yet, but she’s hoping to get us direct flights both ways. It’s actually a fairly good deal at the moment, no more expensive than the flights with the stopovers and as flying is tedious at best the less time in an airport/plane the better!

Looking forward to seeing Georgia again though I haven’t been there since 2001. Looking forward to seeing my contacts again too and meeting some more folks I talk to regularly by phone/email but have yet to meet face to face. Gonna be taking LOTS of pictures too. Thank goodness for the Gig SD card (and our two back up 128 meg cards)! Ok well the Gig SHOULD actually do but hey, if I’m capable of taking 100 pictures on a day trip I can only imagine what five days will do to me! Especially when you get me around 1800’s homes!

I’ve got some ideas that I’m hoping will be supported by the other Clients going (maybe some of them have the same ideas too who knows). I’m hoping a few of them will end up being base enhancements to the system instead of one-offs for us. I’m all about spreading the costs or global enhancements! Like I’ve said it’s also a great networking opportunity.

As Tom is coming with, I’m keeping my evenings free to spend with him. There is a reception that I will go to and an afternoon shopping thang that I cannot simply pass up as it’s in a really cool part of Ga that has cool crafts and antiques. I’m going to try not to walk out with another thing like the Brass Monkey that I bought last time. It’s really cool, has a nice patina on it but MAN it was heaving carrying that thing through three different airports!

The Customs person, when they asked me what I was bringing home, didn’t find my attempt at humour (“Well I have a monkey on my back”) very funny. So I said rather sheepishly I had a brass monkey. “Well why do you have a brass monkey” I said I don’t know I thought it was cute and a good idea at the time, but now I’m not so sure. It wasn’t expensive or anything, but I’ve done nothing with it. I was going to put it in a garden on a planter or something if I ever got one. I’m not sure what it was for though, I think it was something that was used in a store to let people know someone was entering. It’s in a box somewhere here since our move last year. I’ve yet to unpack it.

Hmm Amazing Race tonight. Hope it doesn’t suck

This entry was posted in Imported from Old Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Batteries cost like 11 bucks!

  1. Tom says:

    Note to all you Americans and various non-lower-mainlanders:
    “The Nat” refers to Nat Bailey Stadium, home of the Vancouver Canadians (minor leage baseball team).

Speak to me!

