I’m melting! Melting! Oh, what a world, what a world

It is freaking hot here so far this week. The temps are up to as much as 95 where we live which is a bit gross at night. I stocked up on fans. Ok, well I bought two more. We were running on two fans that could qualify for the blue plate special and they just weren’t cutting the mustard. Fortunately I had the foresight to buy them before this heat wave. Past experience has dictated that waiting until it hits means the shelves are somewhat bare and the pickin’s are slim.

I was quite dismayed however to discover that things like metal..umm ‘k not sure what their official name is but the cage things around the fan blades. These days they are PLASTIC and seem somehow really cheap even if the sticker price isn’t. Not to sound like a grumpy old lady, but man! Whatever happened to the quality from the good old days?

Eh, well at least they are circulating the air in the condo. What sucks is that we only have a couple of windows that actually open and being only on one side this means pretty poor air flow. At least we’re not on the top floor roasting from direct heat. Mind you those places are fancier with roof top gardens and loft space with cool oak circular staircases leading up to them so I’m not going to shed any tears for them.

Tom was doing actual physical labour today setting up for Canada Day’s broadcast which is happening from Canada Place (the convention centre and cruise ship terminal area). This is their mobile set that they use for on location type broadcasts like when they do the Pacific National exhibition each year. He was lucky though there was a nice breeze by the water instead of complete stifling heat.

I was looking out for him from my table at a nearby restaurant where I was at a business lunch. I could see him from the distance which is amazing because my eyes suck. I totally recognized his stance and his gait when he walked back and forth from the truck. After lunch I wandered down to bug him and watch for a bit before heading back to the office.

It’s a nice short week this week. Two more days to work then I’m off for five in a row yippee!!

This entry was posted in Imported from Old Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

