Chocolate chip cookie recipe

It’s Sunday, I’m alone and bored. So what does that mean? BAKING!

Ingredients

There are so many variations of recipes out there, but I have a favourite chocolate chip (or chunk) cookie recipe that I always use and it’s never let me down. I often use butter flavoured Crisco in baking, but if you’re a butter puritan, this recipe works great with butter too.

For a change I decided to combine some milk chocolate, semi-sweet and white chips together in one cookie.

2 1/4 cups of all purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup softened butter (or one cup room temp butter flavoured Crisco + 2 tablespoons of water)

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla (though I add a touch more and a touch less water when I use the butter flavoured Crisco)

2 eggs

1 package of chocolate chips (variation: break up Hershey Bars Milk is my fave but either works. Don’t put into the dough mix, rather press a couple of squares into the individual cookie dough on the baking sheet, they melt well and add a big chunk of chocolate to a basic cookie)

Flour, salt and baking soda is combined in a small mixing bowl and set aside.
In a larger bowl cream together the butter, both sugars and vanilla until creamy.

Creaming butter and sugar and eggs

Beat in one egg at a time until mixed through.

Adding flour gradually

Add the flour mixture by hand gradually, then stir in the chocolate chips

Adding the chocolate chips

Bake at 375 degree temperature for 8-10 minutes (my oven is usually smack on 8 minutes)

Baked!

Let cool for a bit on the cookie sheet, the move to a cooling rack.

Cooling

These cookies turn out more on the soft and chewy with a little outside crispy side which is my preference.

IMG_8631

Then enjoy!

This entry was posted in baking, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate chip cookie recipe

  1. Sue says:

    YUM!!
    Thanks for sharing.!!!

Speak to me!

