A squirt of frosting down the throat helps to take your medication ..in the most delicious way…

Over the years there have been a handful of TV comedies that I have been a rabid fan of. You know what I mean? One of those shows where you would practically drive over your Mother to get home on time to watch. Just me? OK.

Many of those comedies appealed more to who *I* was at the time and more often than not if I were to watch them now either the humour would seem ‘dated’ to me or maybe it’s just harder to make me laugh. Call me jaded.

From time to time I’ve been waaaay late to the party on a show and one of those shows is Arrested Development.

Tom was an A.D. fan right from the get-go and I used to listen to him go on about it and think “Meh.. whatever”. I used to think that the ads looked lame (they so didn’t know how to sell that show) and the mere seconds I would see before channel surfing my way to some other probably less worthy program didn’t impress me. I though the choppy almost homemade style camera shots looked amateurish, not realizing that in fact, was part of it’s charm and quirkiness. I’ve since discovered that it’s not a show to judge in 3.2 seconds, it’s one you need to let simmer a while.

I remember watching the Emmys and seeing the show win for best comedy. They practically begged people to watch the show. In fact I don’t believe it was practically, I think they actually did beg. The critics got it and loved it. The audience at large stayed away in droves. Sometimes the general populous just gets it wrong and I was right there along with them. Shame on me.

I, like probably a whole lot of others out there, discovered this show on DVD not all that long before it was cancelled for good. I bought season one for Tom for his Birthday and he watched it when I wasn’t home. One day I decided to give it a shot and there was no turning back. If there is a day that I’m feeling stressed out or a little blue that freak-show of a family can make me literally cry with laughter. It is one of those shows where you have to watch again and again, because along with the more broad obvious humour, if you pay attention, there are hidden gems that make it the Kindersurprise of TV.

They wuz robbed I tell ya.

So I leave you with a little treat I found on You Tube, the family ‘chicken dances’. If you are a fan of the show you will know what I’m talking about. If you’ve never seen A.D. this little clip may not make you want to watch the show but if it makes you in the least bit curious to see what you’ve missed, take my advice and pick up Season one. You won’t be sorry.

*Edited to update the video to something that still works!

This entry was posted in Humour, Television, You-Tubealicious. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A squirt of frosting down the throat helps to take your medication ..in the most delicious way…

  1. Tom says:

    My next goal is to get you (and the boys) to watch with the commentary turned on!

  2. americanuck says:

    That may be one show that I could stand it on.

  3. Pingback: TelevisionBlog

Speak to me!

