Men don’t make passes…

I have always envied those people who, even though they have to wear glasses, can wear them so stylishly that it makes people who don’t have to wear them almost wish they had to. I’m not one of them. I’m a walking advertisement for contact lenses.

Every so often I get the urge to try on new frames to see if magically someone somewhere has designed a pair that doesn’t make me look like a complete dork, and not like Lisa Loeb cutesy dork, I’m talking dork dork.

This weekend was one of those times.

I had tried on some frames a couple of weeks ago that kinda sorta didn’t look half bad so I decided to head on over alone this time so I could wallow in the whole process without making anyone wait, that and the fact I got a coupon for half price lenses burning a whole in my pocket, cha-ching!

Tom and I had slept in that morning and then lazed around until it was time for him to leave for work. By the time he left there wasn’t a whole lotta mall time left so I did a quick perfunctory scrub and headed for the mall. Yeah I know I looked like crap with my quickly slapped on make-up and greasy hair. Grade me on a curve k? Be kind.
I took the digi cam with me too so I could take pictures of myself so I could see how I looked from the other side of the glasses if you know what I mean. The very patient lady suggested/helped me pick out a bunch of frames for the sit down trial and we threw in a few sunglasses styles to boot as they had an awesome deal on those going on as well.

The resulting pictures are not pretty… and the expression on my face pretty much said how I was feeling at the time. These were the BETTER ones folks, just keep that in mind. Just image how bad I looked in the ones that didn’t make the short list *shudder*

glasses-ew2.jpg

glasses-ew3.jpg

glasses-ew4.jpg

The sunglasses weren’t any better.. Here we have a pair of Roy Orbison’s cast offs…

glasses-ew.jpg

And something that makes me look like a cross between an insect and an alien..

bugglasses-ew.jpg

After all the pain of trying I did manage to find a pair that I actually kind of like. I mean I still look like a dork but they are a slightly more flattering brand of dork that I can live with…

New glasses

To top it off, I also picked up some ‘scription sunglasses which are nice and dark and comfortable and yanno what? I can live with them too.

Dorking it up with my new prescription sunglasses

This entry was posted in Consumerism, Feeding the Monkey, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Men don’t make passes…

  1. Tom says:

    HEY YOU, STOP DISSIN’ MY BEAUTIFUL WIFE!!!!

    >GLARE

Comments are closed.