I’m almost *bawking at writing about this one…

I saw a Sunrise Farms transport truck yesterday and it brought back a painful memory. The memory of Clyde.

Many years ago before being forced to use transit, I used to commute to work on a daily basis by car. This meant inching my way down our very sad excuse for a highway which afforded me plenty of time for checking out the vehicles that surrounded me. There were many different kinds of vehicles; fellow 9to5ers, cube vans and all kinds of commercial vehicles. It was in one of these commercial vehicles that I met Clyde.

Out of the corner of my eye I could see him staring at me, begging me with his eyes to notice him. At first I didn’t want to look but once I had, I couldn’t tear my eyes away. There were plenty of others over the years, but Clyde he was special. I tried to tell myself that it was a mistake, there would only be heartbreak ahead but I couldn’t stop myself. I continued to watch Clyde and as traffic ebbed and flowed we continued to stay side by side for miles. Then eventually as it can do, the lane the truck was in started to move faster and I watched Clyde turn his head to watch me finally slip away out of sight.

Our chance meeting haunted me, and for weeks I couldn’t eat…

Chicken.

Yes, Clyde was a chicken. A chicken amongst a whole bunch of other chickens on his way I’m sure to the big coop in the sky. This chicken STARED at me and his head turned and kept up with the movement of my car. I felt soooo bad for this poor little guy. Honestly if it has been in my power I would have pulled that truck over and bought that damn chicken and taken it home with me to live a long happy chicken life. Alas it was not meant to be.

I probably would have stopped for good if they didn’t taste so darn good.

*I know it should be balking but then it wouldn’t have been as clever a title.. (heh)

This entry was posted in Memory Lane. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

