Exercising restraint

I can’t believe I’m actually gazing at blue sky and sunshine. Of course this is while peeking through the blinds, squinting and rubbing my eyes like a mole suddenly thrust into daylight. But huzzah! It’s the first real glimpse of sunshine I have had in a while so I’ll take it.

I always figure I suffer a little bit of sun deprivation. I don’t believe in labels but I think there really is something to the concept of the winter blahs. Even cooped up in my place and facing several hours of scrubbing, dusting and vacuuming this mucky place down it is still nice to know that it isn’t gloomy, rainy or God FORBID snowing outside. I truly believe I was never meant to live in a cold climate, or rather as cold as it gets here in Vancouver area. Man I cannot picture having grown up anywhere East of the Rockies. I don’t think I could have survived.

While being sunny it ain’t exactly warm yet. Tom is off to Florida at the end of this week to meet up with his  family for his Mom’s Birthday. It’s gonna be something like 80 degrees there! Talk about a shock to the system. I’m holding down the fort here  in the land of the pouring rain and stress and be there in spirit if nothing else. The timing was bad unfortch but they understand. Poor Tom has to work late the night before his flight and still make it to the airport to catch an early flight. The whole trip is a bit of a whirlwind too, basically a  four day long weekend two days of which are flying for most of it! I will miss him, I think that will be the longest we’ve been apart for years now! I wonder if Nutmeg will take over his side of the bed, the side he lost when Tom moved in….I think he’s still a bit bitter about that.

Our bed smells like Rub-A535 (or what I like to call Rub Ass… that is what it looks like to me when I see the name). By the way, word to the wise… if you EVER need to put that dual action stuff on your aching thighs while wearing pajama pants? WEAR UNDERWEAR!! The fumes are not friends to your girlie bits!!! Ouch Ouch Ouch!

I’ve been trying to step up the exercise for almost 2 weeks now and man my chubby little body is protesting rather loudly. I know it is probably in shock that I’ve kept it up this long without the inevitable excuses of I’m too tired, I have a headache, I’m cramping..the normal way I would talk myself into taking a day off. Taking a day off for me leads to many days off and then quitting for a long time so no more days off. I’m basically in a routine of two half hours on the elliptical Mon – Friday and a half hour on each weekend day. I’ve done an hour straight a few times when I wasn’t able to break it up and I’m not a big fan of that yet. I’m also adding some resistance bands every other day to work my flabby weak chick arms. I will vary it up a bit more as I progress but for now I’m not doing too badly.  Tom keeps telling me not to get too strong in my arms cos then I will be able to tickle him and beat his resistance. Little does he know that he has in fact provided me incentive to step it up more. Silly man. ;)

I’m approaching this whole thing as trying to modify my too sedentary lifestyle and get more energy.  Frankly it is a nice stress outlet too and as much as I have to drag myself up to do it I always feel great afterwards despite the inevitable aches and pains. I try to do my first half hour during a break from work in the early afternoon and lose myself in the music. It is a way to shut off my thoughts for a while and do something good for myself while I’m at it. If I could figure out how to shut off my thoughts at bed time I would probably get more sleep. Oh well, one thing at a time I guess.

This entry was posted in Mind dump. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exercising restraint

  1. Tom says:

    Eh, shutting off your brain has its downsides…in my case I have trouble turning it back ON (I think mine’s been in shut-down mode since 1983!).

  2. americanuck says:

    Maybe your memory chip has… ;)

    Besides I said thoughts not brain. The only time my brain is in shut down mode it is first thing in the am. I am SO not a morning person.

  3. Tom says:

    Um, we’ve met… ;)

Speak to me!

