Decorate me

Quite a few years back I used to work within walking (brisk walking mind you) distance of Maynards, an auction house in Vancouver that sold liquidated property as well as some estate auctions. I used to love going in there and pouring over the finds prior to the actual auction. I didn’t have a lot of money as a single Mom but looking was free!

Every now and then I would put a fairly “low-ball” absentee bid on an item with the hopes that nobody else would want it but never had any luck, I was always out-bid.

I had a special affinity for Art Deco pieces from the 2o’s through the 40’s.  One time I had my eye on two occasional chairs that were pretty close to these (the smaller chairs) but the material was different.  The wood-work was in fabulous shape on the chairs but the upholstery needed replacing. Someone stole them out from underneath me along with a gorgeous desk from the same estate lot that came from the elderly woman’s cabin. It needed a bit of love and attention, I hope the person that bought it restored it to it’s glory. I have fun every now and then surfing through Ebay and various other online sources “window shopping”.

An old friend of mine had a Deco sideboard they inherited from their Grandmother, it needed refinishing which would have been quite a bit of work with some inlaid wood, but instead he PAINTED IT. Flat grey. Ouch. That hurt me.

I  suppose I like Deco because it is modern and retro all at the same time. I know after a while it was considered to be flashy and overdone but I truly love it and would love to have a really nice Deco vanity in our bedroom, even better an entire bedroom set, and maybe one of those nice bar cabinets. When Tom and I were poking around some antique stores in both the Bellingham area and down in Pine Mountain Georgia I saw some really beautiful pieces that I just wished I could buy. I mean it’s not like we have any room for any more furniture in our place anyway!

One of these days..

This entry was posted in Mind dump. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

