Work it out

A very important part of my workout routine has been selecting the right music for my playlist to keep me motivated. I had loaded up my cute little pink mp3 player with a good chunk of my digital music but it was getting to be a pain scrolling through to find songs that went with the various stages of my routine so I went through and picked a bunch of my faves to use. I have to admit seeing them in a list, they are kind of umm eclectic. Whatever. They work.

  • One for the Mockingbird – Cutting Crew (not this version but this is all I could find but good classic 80’s song)
  • Faith – George Michael (I dare you to not shake your butt)
    • Freedom 90 – George Michael (Wave ya hands in the air)
      • Love Song – Sara Bareilles (Love the piano on this song and it has a great steady beat)
          • Pump it – Black Eyed Peas (Good song when you feel your energy flaggin’)
            • Don’t Lie – Black Eyed Peas (There are a few BEP songs that are great to work out to)
              • My Best Friend’s Girl – The Cars (Another good steady beat song and makes me remember my party days in the early 80s)
                • Promiscuous – Nelly Furtado (Another good hip shakin’ song)
                  • Radio Radio – Elvis Costello and the Attractions (Makes me wanna pogo)
                  • Runaway – Del Shannon (Ok this one is weird I admit it but I love it anyway)
                  • Shakira – Hips don’t lie (Oh hey more hip shakin’ and this one it even says so in the title)
                  • Before He cheats – Carrie Underwood (A countryish song that crossed over but I love it, nice revenge music not that I have anything revengey to do)
                  • Stronger – Britney Spears (I like to save this until near the end if I need a good boost of motivation, yeah yeah it’s Britney but whatever, don’t judge me)
                  • Build me up Buttercup – The Foundations (Just a good happy song) *edit to clarify (for Tom’s sake) that it’s a fast peppy song not the actual subject matter ;)
                  • Unwritten – Natasha Beddingfield (It’s about things changing, what could be better in a song when you’re trying to change yourself for the better? Plus I like to sing along with it even if it’s being overplayed now by those damn Pantene commercials!)
                  • Sexy Back – Justin Timberlake (This one you get pretty tired to if you go backwards on the Elliptical, it’s a longish song and quite peppy)
                  • Cry me a River – Justin Timberlake (Ok yes I admit it I do like JT but not in THAT way he’s a baby)
                  • Who am ILena Anderssen (Fast song, great beat and hey, my Cousin was a producer (and mixer) on her albums, She is of Faroese Canadian descent too .. me with a little Scottish thrown in for good measure..and grew up the same place as me. I also recommend “Can’t Erase it” and “Things I’ve never learned”)
                  • Bootylicious – Destiny’s Child (My body IS too bootylicious)
                  • Candy Man – Christina Aguilera (Cute and cheeky retro sounding song)
                  • Home – Daughtry (Slower song but you can still move to it)
                  • Party for Two – Shania Twain (Billy Currington version, hate hate hate Mark McGrath)
                  • Aserejé – Las Ketchup (A silly little ditty in Spanish that I totally make up the words to..”A sera hey ha the hey the hevy to the hevyin sevyou no wa na havey and they boogie and they wigedy bee”- that’s what it sounds like to me!
                  • Who Knew – Pink (Great song for working with resistance, especially PUNCHING)

                  They will stay until I’m sick of them, or until I need to mix it up a bit. Some will stay some will rotate out but they are doing it for me so far.

                  This entry was posted in Mind dump and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

                  One Response to Work it out

                  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

                    Stacey Derbinshire

                  Speak to me!

                  