Heard em Say

I’ve been having fun with the site Grooveshark that Tom hooked me up with. We’ve been using it to listen to streaming music rather than as a download site, but the cool thing is you can find songs that you haven’t heard in YEARS. I did one of those random searches for 80’s music and was having fun listening to songs I had all but forgotten about or was having a hard time finding anywhere else. I was one of those girls in the clubs that wouldn’t have a clue what to request, one of those lame girls that would try to sing parts of a song to the DJ in an attempt to get a favourite song played. My friend Becky however was a music encyclopedia so she would often save face for me and do the actual requesting. When I was stuck doing it myself what would make it difficult at times, is the fact I would totally get the lyrics of a song wrong (See Pulling Muscles for Michelle a song that doesn’t actually exist, by Squeeze). I can almost see the DJ’s eyes rolling up into his head to this day.

So tonight in my random 80’s searching I came across a song by Mr. Mister. No, not Broken Wings, that one I got right. It was the song Kyrie, or rather in my world Carry A. Umm oops.

So here are the lyrics I THOUGHT the singer was singing in the chorus…

Carry a laser down the road that I must travel
Carry a laser through the darkness of the night
Carry a laser where I’m going will you follow
Carry a laser on a highway in the light

Hey it was the 80s lasers were like ummm all the rage with movies about space and stuff. You know, Han Solo “pew pew”.. Cough. Anyone?

Thanks to these here internets I am finally able to find out what the lyrics actually are….

Kyrie Eleison
Down the road that I must travel
Kyrie Eleison
Through the darkness of the night
Kyrie Eleison
Where I’m going will you follow
Kyrie Eleison
On a highway in the light

It is according to Wikipedia, some kind of prayer (Lord have Mercy). Go figure. Like the soulless heathen that I am I kind of wish it really was about lasers.

This entry was posted in Humour, The Interweb is a magical place and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

