Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Crafts

Delivering groceries to my Mom the other day Tom and I walk up to her condo intercom loaded to the gills and press the call button:

*beep beep*

Mother: Hello?

Me: Hi it’s us! Let us in!

Mother: I’m on the other line call back in a minute

*Pause* Tom and I exchange looks.. and then I press again

*Beep Beep*

Mother: HELLO WHO IS THIS??

Me: Mother, it’s US we have your groceries let us in!

Mother: Is this Annette? (my sister who lives in Ontario)

Me: NO! It’s us we’re downstairs let us in!

Mother: Oh I can’t hear a bloody thing…I CAN’T HEAR YOU!!! is this Chris?

Me: Sigh… no Mom it’s

Mother: I can’t hear a bloody thing *hangs up*

Tom and I start to laugh. I pull out my cell and call my Mom.

Me: (on phone) *ring*

Mother: Hello? (sounding vaguely annoyed)

Me: Hi It’s Belinda…

Mother: Oh it’s you! I couldn’t hear a bloody thing earlier….

Me: Ok well I’m gonna hang up and call you back on the intercom, just press 6 to let us in ok?

Mother: Ok dear

I hang up the cell and press the intercom again

Mother: HELLO?

Me: It’s us.. let us in..

Mother: HELLO HELLO.. OH FOR GOODNESS SAKE!

Tom and Me together: IT’S US PRESS SIX LET US IN!

Mother hangs up again.

By then we’re in hysterics and I’m sure everyone who lives anywhere near the front door who is home is enjoying the show….

I call her back on the cell.

Mother: HELLO?

Me: Hi it’s ME I need you to let us in!

Mother: Oh you’re downstairs?? Oh well I will let you in…

Me: Ok I’m going to hang up and you can press 6 to let us in ok?

(Tom mutters I bet she’s gonna press 6 now)

Mother: BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP (pressing 6)

SIGH!

I hang up the cell and call her back on the intercom

Mother: HELLO? I LET YOU IN! oh for goodness sakes BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP

The door finally opens. Tom and I exchange looks again and dive for the door.

Tom : now that’s a blog if I ever heard one.

Me: Oh yeah.

This entry was posted in Famdamily, Humour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

