Auntie Anne’s Pretzel Clone

Auntie Anne's Pretzel Clone

Auntie Anne’s Pretzel Clone

Originally uploaded by Americanuck

AGES ago I picked up a couple of Todd Wilbur’s “Top Secret Recipe” books, you know the ones with restaurant clones. They’ve been gathering dust along with most of my other cookbooks but I made a deal with myself, because I can’t leave this Province and we’d all been jonesin’ for those Auntie Anne mall pretzels from the Bellis Fair Mall I would try the clone recipe from this book modified slightly for the bread maker (to make the dough, yes I cheated there.)

Alls I can say is YUM these things are goooood and Sean declared them to be EXACTLY the same. I have to concur though I think I was a little heavy handed with the Kosher salt. After I ate one I kind of knocked a bit of salt off the second batch.

I probably could use a little more practice with the ‘swirl’ to get them in the pretzel shape and the whole rolling thing is a bit of a challenge on a smallish pastry work surface but I managed.

I will definitely be making these again.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Auntie Anne’s Pretzel Clone

  1. Tom says:

    Oh tish tosh…your “swirl” technique is perfect, my dear, just LOOK at those photos!

  2. americanuck says:

    Oh in the end it’s the flava and yummm it was gooooood

Speak to me!

