All About Me

I’ve been geekin’ around the internet for close to 11 years now, admittedly a drop in the bucket compared to some, including my better half.

In fact, back in ’99 I met Tom in a chat room, how geeky is that? Not wookin’ pa nub or anything, we were friends for a good two years before anything slightly romantical developed.  Still, the power of the internets and all that, it wasn’t likely we would ever meet any other way, yet were perfect for each other, go figure.

Anyway, I don’t chat anymore, haven’t in years but still keep in touch with a few who became good friends in RL (real life in case y’all don’t know) but that doesn’t mean I still don’t geek out in other ways.

Blogging, Flickr, Twitter, Friendfeed, Etsy..yeah, list goes on. Where I can I grab my user name as I kind of think of it as me and get kind of pissy when someone else already scooped it up before I got there.

When I heard about the site usernamecheck.com I was intrigued and had to check it out. When I saw that my fave user name was available on a number of these sites my first instinct was to jump on them and sign up everywhere, but then I smartened the hell up. Um, yeah most of these sites I will never use, but it did clue me into a few others that I didn’t know about yet and so I snagged the ones I wanted that were still available and learned to let go of the rest.

But if you’re like me and you have a fave user name it’s worth a look-see, you may even discover a few new time-wasters.

This entry was posted in The Interweb is a magical place. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All About Me

  1. Vicki aka geekmom says:

    hahaha, I know EXACTLY what you mean. Was I ever pissed off when I went to sign up on etsy and someone had already taken geekmom. How dare she! :-P

    (off to check out the site you mentioned)

    PS I met my husband online too :-)

Speak to me!

