Cartoon Car Trouble

Ok, turns out I lied the other day, I DID take a picture on our trip to Bellingham Washington the other day. I was emptying out my camera’s memory card and lo and behold I had forgotten this picture:
Cartoon cars at the US border

Some weird cartoon-like cars sitting on a trailer on the Canadian side of the Pacific Border crossing (truck crossing). One of the cards is like two logs with pointy fronts, kind of like Barney Rubble’s car but I *think* he only had one log? The other one looks like it would belong on some kind of Disneyland ride.

I’m curious what they are for.

This entry was posted in Oot and aboot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cartoon Car Trouble

  1. geekmom says:

    My immediate hunch is that they were part of a film production. I see trailers with odd vehicles on them all the time around Burnaby and Vancouver. Just a few weeks ago, there was one across from my house (there is a 7-11 there), a 50s car painted up to look like a police car from Savannah.

  2. americanuck says:

    Yeah we both had the same thought but being so campy you’d think it would be some kind of cartoon brought to life or something like that. I was tempted to jump out of the car and run over to take a closer look!

  3. Tom says:

    My first thought was someone’s bringing The Wacky Races to the big screen, but none of these look like any of the ones from the cartoon.

    BTW I looked at the large photo and it looks like the pointy bits are the BACK of the wooden car. I still say it reminds me of a cartoon, just can’t remember which one…

Speak to me!

