Just Keep Me Moving

A few years ago I bought an elliptical. Other than a few bursts of guilt induced usage it has served as a basically a clothing rack in our bedroom. I kind of discovered how much I don’t like elliptical trainers right around the time I bought it.

In fact it kind of  hated me back. The day it was delivered (all assembled) the delivery guy came alone because delivery guy #2 decided he had better things to do for the evening. The guy deputized Chris who at the time was a little more shall we say “stringbeany” to help him carry it into our place. That was mistake number one. Mistake number two was me standing near the doorway in stocking feet. Chris lost his grip on the machine and his end dropped on my foot.  Delivery guy not realizing this on time kept pushing it.. and I apologize in advance for any visuals on this.. ripped off one of my toenails. Yeah, actually TORE that sucker from the bed allll the way backwards. I probably turned white as a sheet but the guy was in too much of a hurry to leave to notice. I hobbled into my room away from the kids to have a look see and oh man.

Stopped skeeving yet?

So I went to the doctor.. the walk in (or in my case hobble in) clinic up the street from my place.  I explained what happened to the doctor and HE freaked out.  Never a good thing in my mind. He was all “AWWWWW MAN!!!!” and made shivery motions with his shoulders. After he stopped being grossed out (!) he looked at it,  prescribed some meds, told me my nail may never grow back (not a good thing, particularly with toe nails cos.. hello we have to wear shoes) and told me to wear what was basically a little toe condom to help protect it.

So yeah, the new elliptical sat there until I could wear shoes again. Oh and the nail, it did grow back. Lying doctor!

Since then, like I said I’ve used it on occasion but most of the times we exchange snake eyed glances and avoid each other like the plague.

A few weeks ago we bought a treadmill which I LOVE. I love it so much that I use it a lot. So much in fact that I now have some pretty ugly blisters on the soles of my feet mostly cos I’m not wearing the right shoes. I’ve been averaging 3.5 – 4 miles around 3-4 times a week since we got it which I don’t think is too bad for someone who has been pretty sedentary  for a while. I’ve been doing the research on the ‘net to find out the best way to avoid or limit this type of thing and it would seem good quality shoes and greasing up my feet a little with some slidey goop will help to lower the friction. I have THE wimpiest skin in the world but I’m trying not to be a baby about it.  I’ve had to give my feet two days of rest to heal, especially the one foot that had a blister ON my blister (ew) but once I have my new shoes as of tomorrow I should be good to go again as the pain is pretty much gone.

So, not that I plan on going all weird about it, but I’m glad to be getting some exercise and attempting some “stress management” as ordered by my doctor.  At least I’ve found something that I actually enjoy doing and it really doesn’t take a lot of effort or gear to do. Having it handy to just jump on without having to A.) go anywhere or B.) Get dressed (which lately seems to be an EFFORT for a gal who works wearing pajamas)  C.) because  changing into yoga pants and a tank top ISN’T that much of a difference than wearing pajamas.

005

Now we just need to find the elliptical a new home where it hopefully it won’t attack its new owners.

This entry was posted in Accident prone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Keep Me Moving

  1. I found your blog in Google News search.

Speak to me!

