Yellow Ledbetter – Seattle trip Day Three

We were going to travel a bit further afield on day three. There are plenty of places within walking distance from the hotel but I had a few things on my Seattle must-see list which required us to pull out the car from those tiny tiny spaces. Oh I never mentioned the hotel’s stingy parking spots in my previous review did I? Yeah there were a few things we didn’t like about the hotel and that is one of them. My car is not huge and it was a bit of a challenge parking in those spots but we saw some people with trucksters who were overflowing into the next spot. Crazy..

Anyway, I digress.

We chose one of our breakfast staples for that morning’s fare.

Seattle

Yeah I know, IHOP when we have sooo many other choices blah blah… heard em all.

Our destination for the day was Fremont,  Center of the Universe, home of the Troll, J.P. Patches, and Lenin… oh yeah and a rocket and commuter statues that the community encourages you to dress up.  A community that celebrates art, my kinda place!

Here for instance is the rocket I spoke of… see I wasn’t kidding.

Fremont

Fremont

We parked on the street beside the building it is mounted on. A rescued cold war rocket which has been for lack of a better word ‘bedazzled’.

Fremont

I knew I was gonna like Fremont.

Next we came across this interactive bit of art-work called “Waiting for the Interurban”. The statue itself is mildly creepy but it is the interactive nature which I find fascinating. Apparently the statue can be decorated to celebrate events like birthdays and weddings (no damage of course) and with respect to someone else’s occasion in mind. People are given up to a week to have their decorations in place with the understanding they can be replaced if they are ruined by inclement weather. You are also required to come clean up once your week is up.

Fremont

Fremont

A friend of ours says the faces look more blobby than they used to, she’s seen it herself. I looked at other photos and it does appear the faces have changed a bit over the years but I have no real point of reference. Blobby or not they’d still be a bit creepy!

Next stop along the street was the statue in honour of J.P. Patches, the host of a locally produced and long-lived children’s show. J.P. was probably the one clown on earth that didn’t freak me out as a kid. I used to LOVE watching that show so it was cool to see the love shown J.P., Gertrude and even miss Esmerelda (the doll beside the ICU2TV)
If you’re not from the PNW, you’d most likely have never heard of J.P. but rumour has it that Matt Groening’s (An Oregon native) Krusty the clown was partially inspired by way of ole J.P. though J.P. wasn’t quite as cruel (despite the bottomless pit his guests would fall into as they leave.)

Fremont

Fremont

Walking a bit further on we finally reached Troll Avenue, home of the Fremont Troll who lives under the Aurora Street Bridge.

Fremont
It is a bit of a hike uphill but much better to walk it than to drive with the very limited parking. In fact there is clear signage to not park there but people do it anyway. It is right beside a very residential area so the constant visitors must be a trial for the folks that call it home.

This was a highlight for me and I booted it up the hill when I saw it wasn’t busy. I wanted a chance to snag a photo before the next lot of visitors decided to crawl all over it.
Fremont

The troll was featured in the movie “10 Things I Hate About You” (RIP Heath… sigh) and was high on my priority list to see.

An aside…I’m all for people to pose for pics in front of things but geez people get in and get out and give someone else a chance. Some people just hog whatever it is people are taking pictures of and it drives me INSANE. Here is a picture of Tom in front of the Troll which gives an idea of the scale (and one of the annoying people who wouldn’t get the EFF off of the statue so I could take a picture of just TOM and the troll)

Fremont

While Tom was snapping his pictures I noticed that there were a lot of shoes thrown up around the wires in the area. Another tradition perhaps? Hmmmm.

Fremont

When I said that Fremont was the Center of the Universe I wasn’t kidding… see? The sign even says so.

Fremont

Of course had we read the sign from all angles we would have found the statue of Lenin faster than we did. Turns out it was just down the street to the left of this sign. Yep a real honest to goodness statue of Lenin found in Slovakia toppled after the revolution. It was bought and brought to the US by someone who recognized the work of a famed Slavic artist. From what I understand it is on loan to the city as the family of the fellow who preserved it is trying to find a buyer. A touch controversial perhaps but understandable that it is here in an artist’s community being art and all.

Fremont

It is also apparently a good place to shelter under on a hot day for a nap..

Dinner that night was my choice, Red Lobster. I got the lecture on THAT choice too but for those of us who live here in BC and have PLENTY of other seafood restaurants to choose from just like Seattle… what we don’t have is a Red Lobster and sometimes you just want a little Red Lobster. Pass the Chedder Bay biscuits!

Seattle

Two of my co-workers had long dared me to have a “Lobsterita” the huge-ass margerita that lives up to its name. This time I decided to give it a go. It certainly was HUGE. I chose the lime one because I’m really not into the sweet fruity drinks anymore but it was still FAR FAR too sweet for me and way too much for one person to drink. Not a lot of booze either, it was IMHO mostly mix and ice.

Seattle

RL is not Tom’s place of choice, he isn’t a shellfish lover in the least way but he’s a good sport. He had a crab encrusted Tilapia for his entrée.

Seattle

I had a couple of different styles of shrimp along with some broccoli (yummm) no potatoes or other starches with my meal as SERIOUSLY the shrimp is filling enough.

Seattle

While we were out we also did some shopping, checking out the local Burlington Coat Factory (a bust all around) and then went to a mall that had a Tall’s Camera in it to pick up a Lensbaby Composer for me. It is cheaper to buy in the States than up here. I’m really excited to learn how to use this baby.

Seattle

Another evening spent in the hotel room with some wine, some PopChips (ZOMG my new fave snack!) and yet another one of my laptop movies on our last full night in Seattle.

In honour of my Pearl Jam song blog title.. one of my fave youtube vids in reprise..

This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yellow Ledbetter – Seattle trip Day Three

  1. Sue says:

    No other starches at RL – as in NO GARLIC CHEDDAR BISCUITS?? How did you resist them?

Speak to me!

