A Change Is Gonna Come

Life is full of twists and turns ain’t it?

Like a bazillion other people, or it seems so anyway these days, I find myself no longer working due to an organizational restructure. Fortunately for me, I am being well taken care of and offered plenty of support during this transition and for that I’m very grateful. I’m lucky too that I can look back on my career thus far and be very proud of my many accomplishments. I gained a lot of experience through the years and the challenges I’ve faced made me I think, a stronger and better employee.  Am I grieving a little? Yes.  Some of the goodbyes sad and a little melancholy? Sure, that’s normal I guess, but in the bigger picture I am looking at this as an opportunity. Door closed, hello open window. Hopefully not on the 108th floor. ;)

It is funny how something like this affects those around you as well.  Tom, Chris and Sean have been elemental in their support. All of them listen patiently when I need to talk it out, or try not to laugh when I dance it out. Oh, Mum’s gone crazy again.  When the kids were young I used to play big band music, grab them up off their chairs and make them dance the Lindy with me while I was doing housework. The funniest thing in the world is to dance with a rubber armed kid shuffling their feet and rolling their eyes. Man I wish I had that on film. They laugh about it NOW. I think they even kind of enjoy that memory.

A number of my friends and former cohorts have also rallied around me, offering their support, validation and hugs.  I’m not a huggy person typically but yanno at a time like this it has been kind of okay. :)

I guess another reaction is not knowing what to say or if in fact they should say anything at all.  Some people maybe feel some sort of survivor’s guilt  and others who didn’t work with me maybe just don’t know how I will react if they bring it up so it just isn’t mentioned.  It is that proverbial elephant in the room.  It seems people don’t understand that sometimes it hurts more to ignore that elephant. I am okay with the elephant, I shall call him George.

So George and I are going to spend some quality time together for the next few months. We’re going to redecorate our place, we may even attempt painting though I think we’ll start with the bathrooms because neither of us have done much of it and we may just suck. We may even do a little bit of traveling if Tom can get some time off. George comes with his own trunk. (Okay I know… booo sorry.)

Oh and I THINK I may have found curtains I actually like for the living room. Finally. Those sad little empty curtain rods are still mocking me and dude, don’t get me started on that dirty old area rug that is begging for retirement.  I’m going to have to cut it up and deposit it in a multitude of little bags in our dumpster a la Dexter.  As for the replacement… how hard should it be to find a colourful abstract area rug that doesn’t cost hundreds of dollars? Meh, well now I have some time to start my quest in earnest.

I was thinking I will also look into taking some courses after a bit of a  ME break. Maybe something fun like photography or creative writing! Sky’s the limit as they say.

Anyway, as I said I’m okay, more than okay in fact. I’m a cat and you know what they say about cats. My feet will land firmly on the ground.

This entry was posted in Mind dump and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Change Is Gonna Come

  1. Sue says:

    Sorry and happy for you. I am so with you in the door/window view of life. I’ve always felt that things happen for a reason and if you go with it, everything works out in the end.

    I can relate a little because Ed and I were offered, and are taking, an early retirement incentive so as of 9/28 we will both be retired. I am nowhere near ready to sit home and knit, so I too have to find a new path.

    Anyway – You are fortunate to have such a good support system in your family. I know your positive outlook will go a long way to help find something that suits you. Meanwhile – enjoy the respite form the day to day drudge!

    Any chance the travel might include a trip to the US east coast?

  2. americanuck says:

    Hey congrats to you two! I’m sure we’ll make our way out the NY at some point. I’m not sure where we’ll go, maybe somewhere warm!

Speak to me!

