Goin’ to the zoo zoo zoo

I was reading through some of my previous posts the other day and noticed that I had neglected to document our summer day trip to the Greater Vancouver Zoo.

I have to admit I am a little on the fence when it comes to animals in captivity. On one hand you’re taking animals out of their natural environment and penning them up and on the other you’ve got access to animals you most likely would never see in real life unless you’re a real adventurer type. I guess by going to zoos I have made my choice but I still feel a little guilty.

This little trip to Aldergrove was one that included Sean, something that occurs less and less these days. Sean used to be Tom’s shadow even if he was just driving to the store “Can I come?” he would ask, the answer was always “of course”.  Ah well, all part of growing up I guess.  At least we haven’t been relegated to the totally lame parent category.

Anyway, I hadn’t been back to the zoo since it was known as the Game Farm… and Sean looked like this (taken on that trip to the Game Farm)

Scan10668

On that classic trip I had given Sean a bunch of long grass and leaves to hold and entice the giraffes. They were in a different enclosure back then and kids were often feeding them. In fact back in those days there were little vending machines to dispense feed pellets for other creatures but they’ve changed their policy on in between meals now and discourage people from feeding the animals. ANYWAY, picture this, Sean holding up a bunch of leaves and grass to the Giraffe and watching it stalk its way over to the fence and then this enormous head lowering towards you. Sean looked HORRIFIED but he stuck his arm straight out and toughed it out. I only wish I had a camera on him at the time but I wasn’t prepared and it was the days of film. He talked about the giraffe the rest of the day though. “Didja see me Mummy I fed the giraffe, I did it by myself, I did!”

He’s changed a bit and so has the giraffe enclosure…

Greater Vancouver Zoo
Like I said, they specifically tell you NOT to feed the animals between meal snacks, though a father and small child did break that rule and I’m pretty sure the kid experienced the same rush as Sean.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

I have to say though the giraffes are and always will be MY personal favourite. The enclosure has a viewing platform that takes you up above the giraffes but I found out the hard way if you wave your hand around a giraffe can actually stretch their heads up to your level and will LICK YOUR HAND WITH ITS GIANT PURPLE TONGUE. I mean I wanted it to look at me so I could take a picture closer up but old Gerome had his/her (?) own idea.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

This photo was taken mere seconds before the purple tongue incident… needless to say it threw off actually getting the picture that I was looking to get and maybe ol Gerome was a little insulted so it moved on to the people beside me and they got to pet it.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Sean and I went into the petting zoo area along with a dozen kids under 5. What can I say? I love goats. I never noticed before that goats have these really weird slitted pupils… kinda spooky really.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Tom preferred to stay on the outside….

Greater Vancouver Zoo

They have improved in the hygiene department too, they have a hand washing station as you leave the enclosure.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

I was trying to use the zoom to blur out the fence on some of the enclosure so I could get a clear picture of the wilder beasts but they wouldn’t cooperate and stayed right in the middle so the pictures have a so-so quality.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Hey look, here is a baboon doing what I’ve been doing a lot of in the last couple of weeks. Good impression.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Though I wear pants.

It was sure nice to spend the day with two out of my three guys, and we had gorgeous weather for it too.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Sean doesn’t ham it up for pictures anymore, not like when he was a little guy, though he doesn’t try to hide from it anymore either.

Greater Vancouver Zoo
Just smile for Mum and she’ll move on… that’s it.

Tom on the other hand? 100% GRADE A HAM! Heh.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

As we were leaving Tom saw the lion… now don’t touch that lion Hon…
Greater Vancouver Zoo

Nooooo don’t do it, don’t.. uhhh oh..

Greater Vancouver Zoo
Hee hee.. see? Ham. I love it (and him of course) he is an endless source of expressions. Me? Almost every picture he takes of me has one of two expressions a.) my eyebrows up and eyes wide open if I’m trying to make a face and b.) a half-smile with clenched teeth and a squint like I’m trying to figure out what he’s doing. Yeah I even do that when I’m taking my own picture.

I took a couple of my usual arm’s length shots.. that’s Mr. Ham’s arm if you haven’t figure that out yet.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Dinner was Sean’s choice and he chose Wendy’s which thinking back seemed to be our fast food of choice this summer when we had our outings. Coincidence?

Greater Vancouver Zoo

See another excellent expression:

Greater Vancouver Zoo

And then there is me…hah

Greater Vancouver Zoo

This entry was posted in Oot and aboot. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

