I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus

T’was time once again to haul out the tree and the decorations I had so recently neatly “Tetrized” into the storage closet (I’m not sure I will be able to get them back in as tightly packed after the holidays are over!)

Miss Cinnamon, once she realized what was in the tree box was mega-super-extraordinarily excited as the tree is her giant chew toy.
Xmas Decorating 2010
“OPEN OPEN OPEN!!”

I will never understand why she loves the feeling of those bristles in her mouth but she does. She doesn’t eat them just opens and closes her maw and then runs away. Not that this is the only example of her eccentricities, just the more seasonal one.

Xmas Decorating 2010

We never have tinsel because they cats WOULD eat that, and not only is it dangerous, even if it made it’s way through the cat’s digestive systems without incident, having something silver dangling from a cat’s butt is not my idea of a festive event.

As it happens just about without fail, Tom put the middle piece of the tree into the stand first. I was busy snapping pictures of Miss Cinnamon when I heard his “Uh oh” and panned up to snap him as I laughed and said “middle piece?” It wouldn’t be Christmas without it.

A quick swap and all was right with the world tree.

Xmas Decorating 2010

We’d picked up a few new sets of xmas balls to slowly phase out some of my least favourite older ones but man, I tell ya it is a lot harder to find glass balls these days, most of the ones I saw were plastic. While I agree plastic is safer they just don’t look that great but I’m sorry, if you can dent a decoration with your finger, it just isn’t Christmas to me.

Xmas Decorating 2010

We do need to get a new tree skirt I think it is time for a change. True, though it spends the bulk of the season covered in presents there is always the pre-wrapping/post destruction period where it shows. It is a little too.. oh I dunno gauzy for my tastes now. Makes for a great Tom skirt and/or veil though! ;)
Xmas Decorating 2010
Xmas Decorating 2010

The boys participate less and less each year in the decorating process though Sean always grabs his hat and a cat costume(?) to put on…
Xmas Decorating 2010

Tom joined him…
Xmas Decorating 2010

As Chris was heading out for the evening with friends at a pub, I MADE HIM come out and put at least one decoration on the tree and pose for a few pictures (ever so grudgingly), It has been more than a few years since Chris actively assisted on decoration duty without being dragged out of his room kicking and screaming to hang his childhood ornaments (along with a few eye-rolls for good measure).

Xmas Decorating 2010

Xmas Decorating 2010

Sean wasn’t feeling well, so I let him off the hook from decorating this year, but he had to pose with ol’ Chilly the one-eyed snowman an annual tradition, well at least ever since he made it.

Xmas Decorating 2010

Finally though, the tree was up and decorated and I was wearing my reindeer antlers.

Xmas Decorating 2010

Them bells are sure distracting.

Xmas Decorating 2010

As always things get a bit goofy when you’re wearing silly hats.

Xmas Decorating 2010

How can it not?

Xmas Decorating 2010

Less than two weeks until Christmas, man, the year has just flown by.
Xmas Decorating 2010

Tom and I spent the better part of yesterday wrapping all of our gifts and stocking stuffers. We were both saying that gift bags are beginning to sound more and more appealing! It is amazing how tired and stiff you get from wrapping.

IMG_5426
All that effort and in less than two weeks it will all be torn off and I will be running around after everyone with my black plastic garbage bag snatching up the paper as soon as it lands.

It’s a thing.

We’ve yet to get everyone in the same room to take our annual family holiday picture in front of the tree. Note to self, must wrangle family one of these days. The cats are hoping I forget cos they really hate wearing those costumes.

This entry was posted in Famdamily. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

