Winter Sun

Now that Tom and I both have the fancy-shmancy cameras we’re just looking for excuses to get out and play with them a little, so we’ve resumed our hunt for new places to take photos.

Our latest was Crescent Beach which is the less trendy cousin to White Rock Beach and an area that tends to see more couples, families and pooches strolling the paths rather than people trying to show off a hot car (or hot bod, though probably not so much in the winter.)  Another plus is the parking is free though there certainly is less of it. This time of year isn’t so much of a problem but I imagine it is a lot busier in the summer so more competition for the elusive parking spot. I hadn’t been to Crescent Beach in years, probably not since Chris was a baby so it was fun for me too.

It is pretty there, though the boardwalk is definitely a lot smaller and a bit more in need of some TLC.

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

The peeling paint gives it a bit more character. I’ve always had a fondness for taking pictures of places that look a little less than perfect.

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

The sky wasn’t perfect blue either, having a smattering of some pretty funky clouds that also added some visual interest to the pics I think. It was almost a spring day, though a bit of chill in the air. Tom didn’t even need to wear a hat!

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

Of course I had the camera pointed at my honey a lot too and I even managed to snap a picture or two when he didn’t notice the camera which means a couple of pictures without posing! Score!

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

I had to borrow his long arm to take a picture of both of us though, I barely get both of us in the frame if I try.

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

We practically had the place to ourselves which made it even nicer.

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

I love this carved rock near the entrance to the park, it says it all… this is a place where families come to play. Chris was one of those barefooted summer kids once upon a time.

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

This picture got me a few stares from passers-by because I was sitting on my butt to get it, but I loved the gnarled look of that tree and the perspective.

Crescent Beach - Jan 26, 2011

This coming week Tom’s got a few more days off so weather permitting, I feel another outing coming on.

This entry was posted in Oot and aboot. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

