Sincere Sunset: Trip to Cannon Beach – Day 4

We awoke to blue skies, sunshine and warmer temperatures our 4th day on the Oregon coast and decided that it would be the perfect day to visit the nearby Ecola State Park and maybe, just maybe we’d be lucky enough to see elk again.

Before heading out we fuelled up at Dooger’s whose breakfast proved to be mighty tasty and half the cost of the room service from the hotel for the price of a short walk. Sold!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

The drive into the park is a tad wind-y and the road is very narrow and bumpy, it is marked as a two way street but it barely qualifies. People are SUPPOSED to drive slowly and carefully, but just like anywhere there are those asshats who don’t listen. We saw one guy almost flip his car while going over one particular bump too quickly, duh!

We learned the hard way the previous year that there are two areas to park and easily allow you to explore. Last year we’d started to hike from one area of the park to another (it is advertised as a mile and a half walk I believe) but it is a very wet, muddy and slippery hike not one for people not dressed (or shod) to hike TRUST ME.

We opted to go to Indian Beach first and to my delight it was full of surfers, not necessarily very GOOD surfers but still lots of fun to watch.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

I was on the hunt to find a whole sand dollar and the tide being out early that morning meant the odds would be good. Indian Beach isn’t as busy as it is takes more effort to get to so way less beach combers than say on the beach right in front of all the hotels. I DID find one, and I ummm well absconded with one that someone abandoned on a log. Nobody was anywhere near it so I figured… Of course LATER I found out that the Canadian Border is pretty fussy about people bringing shells back, they have to be spic and span and free of sand so I ended up leaving all my treasures behind (sad face). I couldn’t guarantee I would be able to get every speck of sand out of the dollars and it wasn’t worth the possible hassles.

On the other side of the park is a lookout point that gives spectacular panoramic views of the ocean, Cannon Beach and “Terrible Tilly” The Tillamook lighthouse. Totally worth going there just for those views.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

See even the ground squirrels (or whatever that is) like the view.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

Dinner was leftover pizza (mmm good) and HURRAY it looked like the evening was going to provide us a real sunset at last!
We headed out for an evening walk and made sure that we’d be hanging on the beach when the sun began to go down.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

It was a gorgeous evening and quite warm for spring at the seaside in these parts. I only wore a fleece and that was plenty warm.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

Lots of people were out enjoying the lovely evening, I don’t think we’d seen the beach this busy other than when the school kids were tearing around.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

We noticed that overnight some stencils appeared on the sea well by the Ecola Inn.. some kind of Cannon Beach Banksy wannabe?

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

No idea of the significance of these though.. they looked like mushrooms from Mario Brothers games.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

The surf was nicely up all day and it gave us some great views of crashing waves on the rocks as we strolled the beach.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

The sun slowly started to set and cast that lovely warm glowy light on everything and everybody.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

And then curses! My battery indicator on my SLR started to blink. OH EM GEE the only evening with a real sunset and my battery decides to die? I had taken SOOO many pictures earlier that day and didn’t have much of a chance to recharge (though I could have done it while we ate I guess!). Thankfully I had my backup camera with me which while isn’t as nice as my big camera, still gave me some shots I may have missed. I conserved the battery on the SLR grabbing a shot every now and then and turning the camera off in-between. That was my savior in the end I’m sure because I did get some pics that I really loved as a result.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

And a sunset video

These two reminded me of the little girls from “The Shining”…“Come play with us Danny….”

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

It got a wee bit chilly once the sun went down and we made our way quickly back to the warmth of the hotel, turned on the fire and poured ourselves a nice glass of wine and toasted to an actual SUNSET at Cannon Beach, woohoo!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 3

This entry was posted in Cannon Beach, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

