Flying Cow: Trip to Cannon Beach – Day 5

We woke up bright and early and well rested (I HAVE mentioned how much I love that bed right?) and breakfast and coffee’d ourselves. Today was a mini-road-trip day. The weather was being predicted to turn towards the rain we’d been expecting but at this point the sun was still shining and it was still pretty warm.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

This road trip led us back down to Tillamook Oregon, otherwise known as cow country. Last year we got sidetracked visiting the Cape Meade lighthouse (which we by-passed this year cos that crazy road there wasn’t worth it) and we missed out on the Air Museum. We made sure we left enough time to visit both the museum and the Tillamook cheese factory on this trip, not for the cheese or the tour, but for the ice-cream, their ice cream rocks.

On the way down I spotted several small towns with antique stores. I love antiquing not that I can usually afford to buy any of the big stuff, but I’ve fallen in love with turquoise glass and I wanted to see if I could add some to my nic-nac collection. We opted to check them out on the way back “home” again and made a beeline straight for the Air Museum.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting, I mean I am not a plane buff or anything though I’m certain if you were you’d be quite jazzed by the place, but for me it was well, meh. The building it is housed it is cool, a vintage blimp hanger and MASSIVE in size. In fact the displays themselves only took up a part of the hanger so it has room to grow. From what I could gather, the planes being displayed were working models owned by individuals and allowed to be displayed. I’m guessing they do airshows and the like and there were signs all over asking people NOT to touch the planes and not to turn propellers (because that makes them leak oil eep!)

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

This is a crappy overexposed picture, but it gives a good idea of the massive size of the hanger. The planes look dwarfed and yes indeed that IS a train engine in middle there.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

Along with the planes there are jeeps, helicopters and other military paraphernalia including some uniforms on some of the most interesting dummies we’ve seen. This particular chap looked vintage, and a little angry. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that his right arm is twice the length of his left. To be honest he kind of creeped me out and as I browsed my way around I kept seeing him out of the corner of my eye and thinking he was a real person. I was half expecting him to move when I wasn’t looking like something out of a Twilight Zone.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

I have to admit I got bored pretty quickly. The more interesting planes to me were the ones you could get closer to and have a look inside. Still at least we knew what we’d missed last year and in all honestly I would probably give it a pass from now on, but that is just me. If you are seriously into planes like I said, you may find this place terrifically entertaining.

Next stop was the Tillamook Creamery to get some ice-cream and check out their gift stores. Tom picked up some jam he really liked from there last year and I was hoping to add to my collection of cow mugs. The cow mugs were a bust but he did get his jam and I picked up a few fridge magnets and a small Tillamook cheese minibus, the ice cream however was MM MMMM GOOOD. I’m not a huge ice cream fan, if I have it more than a couple of times a year it is unusual but I’m glad I got to use up one of my ice cream days down there.

Tom got a cookies and cream dish and I got a waffled cone with one scoop of chocolate and one of bubble gum (my two fave flavours) it sounds gross but they taste AMAZING together.

We skipped out on the tour but we did use their facilities (thanks Tillamook cheese for the pee stop and ice cream!) and then made our way back up to Cannon Beach. I wasn’t sure how many antique stores we’d make before they closed for the evening but I had a small strip of them in mind in one of the towns we’d passed through. I couldn’t remember the name of it but I knew I would recognize it when we passed through it again.

Turned out the town was called Wheeler and the best store was a HUGE one called Old Wheeler Antiques. I spent ages wandering my way through that store and the store down the street which was more cluttered and less organized, but this one was my fave. I was in the furniture area when I saw an Art Deco vanity on sale for SIXTY BUCKS. It was a lighter wood (not my fave) but it was GORGEOUS AND SOOOO CHEAP!!!!) It broke my heart to not be able to buy it but the logistics of trying to get it back or shipped just seemed to be too onerous and most probably expensive. Ah well, hopefully someone gave it a good and loving home. We got to talking to the store’s owner and turns out he and his wife own a restored period  hotel in town and mentioned he was actively campaigning to turn the town into a destination for “period” experiences, like speakeasies and the like rather than, well a broken down fishing village. It is a tiny town, the population is around 350 people from what I can find on the ‘net about it but it is a charming little place and a great place to antique. We’re more about the resorts and beach when we pick hotels, but I’m sure it would appeal to people who want to get away from it all and have a unique place to do it. In the end it was successful,  I managed to find a couple of vintage vases and an old war medal for Chris, he loves military memorabilia.

Once back in Cannon Beach we were voraciously hungry, other than a light breakfast and, well, the ice cream… we hadn’t had a proper meal all day. We opted to try out the Lumberyard Rotisserie and Grill, another restaurant owned by Martin Hospitality, the same group that owns the Surfsand Resort we were staying at. We hadn’t had a chance to try it the previous trip so we’d made sure it was on the itinerary for at least one night.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

We were certainly not disappointed. We decided to share an appetizer which is always a mistake for us because we eat that and are too full to finish the main meal and this was no exception. We chose to order a chili-mac and it was TO DIE FOR. We didn’t finish it but it was so rich, so gooey and so delicious that we were both sad we didn’t each order a plate of that for our main meal, it would have easily served as that with the portion size you get. I mean look at this? Doesn’t it make you hungry? MMMMMMM.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

When our entrees arrived they looked and smelled fantastic. Tom had opted for a Turkey dinner (see STILL no seafood!)

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

I chose a fettuccine alfredo with grilled spicy prawns sooo delish!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

Sadly there were a lot of leftovers but we simply couldn’t fit any more without completely bursting but you wanted to just keep tasting.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

The clouds we’d been expecting started to roll on in so there wasn’t any sunset for us to gaze at that night. No worries though with a view like this sunshine is just an added bonus.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 4

This entry was posted in Cannon Beach, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

