Time to Say Goodbye: Trip to Cannon Beach – Day 9

It had to happen eventually, our last full day/night in Cannon Beach had arrived. We were planning on leaving after breakfast the next morning and because Tom’s car would be packed to the gills we planned on using up our breakfast supplies the next day so this meant we did another breakfast out. Though we liked Dooger’s a lot we opted to change it up and go back to the Pig ‘N Pancake.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

The food there is good and I mean come on, that name and logo are just plain adorable.

We were hungry yes but coffee… we needed coffee!!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

We filled our bellies with some hearty breakfast fare. Tom posing here with his omelette and hungry face.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

I had a waffle breakfast. It was darn tasty but that town seems to love the thick bacon. I’m a thin bacon kind of girl, what can I say I like crispy rather than chewy.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Their logo really cracks me up, I am not sure why but it does.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

I even bought a couple of their coffee mugs simply for that logo and they’ve joined in my regular rotation of faves but I didn’t buy any stuffed pig. I admit I was tempted but I always end up with stuffed animal buyer’s remorse. Seriously what do you do with them? I was proud of my restraint though, I mean look! They come in different sizes even!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

We took another walk into town to stop by Bruce’s Candy Kitchen (another candy store in town) as I’d promised my favourite former-former-step-mother-in-law (who I love) I would pick up some treats for her daughter for the upcoming Mother’s day from her kids. She had specifically asked for some of the caramel corn (easy to get) and some caramel covered marshmallows (not so easy to get). Turns out the marshmallows are homemade and they only make them when they make caramel apples. We figured we’d give in one last shot the next morning before leaving town, otherwise I’d confirmed the chocolate covered marshmallows would do as back-up.

On the way there we passed the town library and I had to get a picture of the bench and sign outside. Even the library is charming!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

When we got back to the hotel the wind had picked up and it went quickly from windy to INSANELY windy in a short window of time. The dry sand was being blown so hard it was skittering across the wetter sand.

We HAD to go for a walk on the beach! Of course we dressed for it, wearing our “Seaside” jackets.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

I tell ya though, those touristy jackets are worth every single penny. It is hard to believe a jacket that cost me $25.00 kept me so warm but it did. They are lined with fleece (and reversible though why anyone would want to wear a jacket with the fleece outside and plastic inside is beyond me) and have adjustable gathers around the hood and bottom of the jacket to keep the wind out. I was toasty warm apart from the wind blasting in my face and flapping my pants around my ankles.

Taking a self portrait with a patented “Tom Bomb” behind me…

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Here’s Tom’s jacket ballooning out from the wind :)

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

For our final night’s dinner we chose the Wayfarer restaurant which along with the Lumberyard, mentioned in one of my earlier posts, also belongs to the Martin Hospitality group. We’d had a room service breakfast and one dinner from there on the trip but hadn’t gone into the restaurant itself. I follow them on Facebook and had seen they’d recently gone through some renovations in the restaurant and I was looking forward to seeing what they’d done in person. The Wayfarer is also right on the beach and is adjacent from the Surfsand so it’s just a quick trip across the parking lots. It was drizzling a little so we made it a quick sprint over there. The popular tables are of course the ones by the windows but we weren’t fussy as we’d been staying where we can see the view so we were fine with sitting farther back. We could still see outside but we were in the comfy high booths.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

They did a nice job on the renos it was comfortable and elegant inside. I don’t have a better picture as I didn’t have my good camera with me but here’s a little glimpse of the inside and you can see the view the diners get.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

The lovely waiter came to take our drink order and I asked if they had a full bar (they did) so I decided to have a drink drink rather than a glass of wine as we’d had plenty of wine during our trip. I took a shot and ordered a bellini with a sour apple martini as a back-up (a lot of restaurants don’t make bellinis I’ve found) and sure enough he came back with a martini and an apologetic look. I didn’t mind, I really wasn’t expecting them to be able to make one anyway. The martini was goooood, another thing I make at home which isn’t bad but never as good as a good bartender can make.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Miracle of miracles! Tom finally ordered seafood! A halibut topped with fennel which looked really good (and he confirmed was indeed very good)

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

I chose a wild mushroom and cheese stuffed tortellini topped with dungeness crab which was INSANELY good. The waiter had asked me if I wanted the full or light version. I asked the difference and chose the light, yes this is the light and trust me I couldn’t even get through it because it was soooo rich but ohh I wanted to keep tasting it was simply heavenly. Run don’t walk to this restaurant if you’re ever in town. Seriously. Do it!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

That evening the rain began once again to clear just before the sunset. It started with a band of gold that just kept growing.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

It cast a lovely warm light on us as we stood out on the balcony snapping pictures and enjoying the fact that the sun came out to give us one last pretty evening as a goodbye present. It couldn’t have been a nicer present.

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

We stood and watched the sun go down for that last time….

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

Until it got too darn chilly!

Cannon Beach 2011 - Day 8

One more night’s sleep in that comfy comfy bed (I HAVE said how much I love that bed right?) sighs.. still I was looking forward to home. I did miss the boys and the cats and our own bed even though it isn’t nearly as comfortable it is still ours and still part of home.

This entry was posted in Cannon Beach, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

