Sunny Hours

When we were at English Bay Tom noticed the silver waving sculpture across the water in Vanier Park which turn out to be another of the Biennale public art pieces. I’d been reading that they’re starting to be taken down so we figured we’d better hop to it if we were going to get a closer look at it.

It had been YEARS since I’d set foot in Vanier park, I’m starting to sound like a broken record with statements like that but it is true, I had neglected going to many parts of Vancouver I love simply because I spent too much time in Vancouver during the weekdays. I’m glad we’ve taken steps to rectify that.

There’s lots going on at that end of the Burrard bridge (my fave bridge hello! Deco!)

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

from the uniquely shaped  H.R. MacMillan Space Centre/Vancouver museum (which will forever be known to me as the Planetarium and former home of rock music laser shows)

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

to the Maritime Museum (which I always found BORRRRING sorry I’m just not that into boats.)

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

There are also Shakespearean performances put on by “Bard on the Beach

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

plenty of fresh air walking trails and a nice off-leash stretch of beach to give your furry friends a chance to romp on the sand and in the water with fellow beach lovers. I have to say I enjoyed watching the dogs playing on the beach, partially I’m sure because I am suffering so badly from “I want a dog fever” but also envying the doggies pure joy at such a simple thing as a stick being thrown and by adding water makes it SO! MUCH! MORE! FUN! In grown people’s lives what does that?

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

Oh yes, and the big silver wavy sculpture…..

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

We had to wait for ages while this one girl tried to climb the damn thing for the other to take their picture (not so much) but finally got a chance to grab a clear shot. Then we had to goof around for a minute. I mean nobody else was WAITING or anything.

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

It turned out there was another art piece from the Biennale in Vanier we didn’t know about. Granted it isn’t your typical art piece, but what is really? Art is different things to different people. I kinda found it weird but appealing all the same.

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

We walked over to Kitsalano Beach (or Kits Beach for short.) When I was young this was the beach to hang out at, wearing your bikini (yes I COULD wear one of those once) and meet guys.  There is a pool, beach volleyball and plenty of places to hang out, sun yourself (not anymore! Kids, wear your sunscreen!) and flirt, flirt, flirt. Ah youth. On this day it was actually pretty slow for a Friday evening. It certainly wasn’t a hot day (and so far we’ve NOT HAD ANY!!! grrrr) but it was nice. The thin crowd surprised me.

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

Vancouver is such a beautiful city, she really shines on a sunny day.

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

As I was looking at the photos I’d snapped that day I remembered I had a few old family pictures taken of me and my parents in Vanier back in the late 70’s, I’m guessing the summer of 1978.

The giant anchor (which is still there, I just didn’t take a picture of it) also doubtful I could get into that position anymore!

1978ish, Vancouver

My parents, nephew and myself in front of the “Planetarium” with crab fountain actually turned on (unlike our recent visit boo!)

Scan10103 Me, John and Mammatin 1977

Scan10102 Daddy me and John 1977

And this shot where English Bay dumps into False Creek:

Vanier Park Vancouver circa 1978ish

Taken just about the same spot as it turns out as this photo (though slightly different angle) judging by the building with the red roof, though I think I’m right.

Vanier Park/Kits Beach

Other than a few buildings, it hasn’t change that much really. It is much greener but that has everything to do with the sucky summer we’re having (bitter much?)

T’was a fun day though and one of the nicer ones we’ve had thus far. Here is hoping for a few more before Autumn rolls around!!

Here is the entire set of pictures from that day in a slide show if you’re so inclined, including a video of some very happy dogs playing.

This entry was posted in Oot and aboot. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

