Skool’s Out er IN For Summer

Guess what I went and did? I took me a creative writing course! Does that mean this blawg will get all writerly? Um, no.. duh! This is my diary!  In all honesty,  if I wasn’t able to blog in the casual and conversational way I do now I would go out of my freaking mind. This is my cheap therapy.

Anyway, the course was at SFU, an intensive meaning every day with homework EVERY NIGHT. Good grief,  doing homework (even fun homework like writing) was so strange after so many years of you know, not doing any.

The class was at the Downtown Campus, so back down to the old ‘hood again. I was lucky  and had a ride to/from Skytrain for the first couple of days and rides to for the last three (Tom had to work) which meant the dreaded bus ride home. Man, sorry but buses are gross. I can handle the train for the most part but I hate standing on buses and if you’re lucky enough to get a seat you get bonked on the head by every yahoo with a backpack walking down/standing in the aisle.

Every single day of last week was beautiful weather-wise and because I made sure I was down there with PLENTY of time to spare before class, I had a lot of time to people watch. This became more important as the week wore on because some of those people walking by ended up becoming characters or at least pieces of them became parts of a character for me. Snippets of conversation, physical traits, gestures suddenly took on a lot more meaning.

We wrote a LOT. I mean free-writes in class and after class, exercises, discussions, and of course the reading of the previous night’s assignment to the group. It was wonderful; lots of laughter, sharing, support, feedback and community. Everyone who was there loved writing whether they were already doing it for a living or wanting to or just for the love of writing. The Teacher was fantastic, full of enthusiasm and an obvious passion for the subject. I think that makes ALL the difference in the world.

My creation

Yeah, I got geeky and took a picture a day in the mirror of one of the campus bathrooms (so sue me) they’re combined with some of the other blackberry pics I took that week in the little mosaic. I was carrying skool stuff so I didn’t want the extra weight of a camera as well. Probably the first time I haven’t had a real camera with me in ages.

I must say though, the experience was so positive I’m seriously considering pursuing post-secondary education. Weird right? Kind of exciting though. We shall see, I will be checking out some of the info sessions and I will take it from there.

This entry was posted in Arty-Farty. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skool’s Out er IN For Summer

  1. Sue says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your classes. If your blog is any indication, you are are a very interesting and engaging writer. So here’s my question – what do you like to read? Any authors that you particularly like?

  2. americanuck says:

    Awww thanks Sue! I’m a voracious reader and I love many different genres hmmm off the top of my head…. Nora Roberts (I think I have or have read most of hers but haven’t read any of her “In Death” books yet (under her pseudonym), Sue Grafton’s Alphabet series, Kinsey Millhone is an amazing character, Sandra Brown, LaVyrle Spencer (wish there were more books), Dan Brown, Anne Rule (I love true crime and she’s one of my faves) and one of my favourite books is Rex Pickett’s Sideways (different from the movie but great in its own way) it combines wine with great storytelling. How about you??

    • Sue says:

      I’m with you on Nora Roberts and Anne Rule. I haven’t read the others. I’ve read all but the last Patricia Cornwell. Not true crime, but a great crime series. I LOVED all of the Harry Potter books. I never in a million years thought I’d be into vampires, but a friend gave me the first Twilight book by Stephanie Myer, and I was hooked. I read all of those followed by the Mortal Instruments series by Cassanda Claire. I started “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”, but couldn’t get into it. Most recently I read “The Help” (Loved it) and just finished the “Hunger Games” series.

Speak to me!

