Do You Believe in Magic (California Vacation Oct 2011 – Day 3)

I’m not gonna lie to you, Disneyland is always the highlight of any trip to Southern California for me. So much so, that if by some strange happenstance I was introduced to my most favourite actor in the whole world (though not technically possible as he’s isn’t actually alive anymore) Disneyland would still beat that by a mile. I think maybe it was because I was Disney deprived as a child.

I never mind getting up early to go there (one of the few times I will ever bounce willingly out of bed) and I probably come pretty close to the same level of excitement as any of the 5-year-old girls in princess costumes waiting in line, though hidden under a thin layer of decorum. In my own mind I AM in a princess costume.

Our resort was in Orange County which meant a shorter drive to Disneyland Park compared to the drive from Tom’s old place in the Valley which is great for two reasons, less time to get there and less time to get “home” when you’re tired from walking around all day.

Of course best laid plans and all, it still took an extra half hour to get out the door with the boys doddling around. I mean I was standing at the door with my shoes (and imaginary Snow White dress) on impatiently nagging at them to hurry the eff up!

We did eventually get going and were soon on the first ride of the day (the tram ride) to the park.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

It was all duded up in orange pumpkinish splendour for Halloween, even down to the flowers. I cannot imagine the amount of work it takes to keep up this park but they do a fantastic job of it.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

I was expecting fewer people than there were being October and a week-day but it was still pretty busy there. Parents of smaller kids as well as couples without kids were everywhere and more than a few school age kids too. Ah well it was still far less crowded than a summer day would be and we generally waited less than 15 minutes for any of the rides.

The first ride we ended up on was the newly re-jigged Star Tours ride. I had read somewhere that it had the longest line-ups (being “new”) and sure enough it did but the line still moved fairly quickly.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Our general opinion was.. meh. I don’t think it is any better than the old ride. In fact I really liked the old driver much better. He was fired from his job and now he’s just one of the greeters…poor dude.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

We then went straight to Space Mountain next door. We noticed on the way they’d replaced “Honey I Shrunk the Audience” with “Captain Eo” a great big BOOOOOOO I say. Sorry but I would much rather be sneezed on by a dog than sit through a Michael Jackson film.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

I’ve learned where the cameras are so I’m attempting to ham it up for them now. This went wrong with Splash Mountain as I was blocked by Sean’s head and instead of this goofy expression, all you see are a pair of crazed eyes. The Boys had both decided to keep a straight face to participate in a Meme which they managed to carry off.  Yes I still cheat and take pictures of our picture.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Splash mountain was still splashy…

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

The Haunted mansion was decked out in the Nightmare Before Christmas theme which I suppose is handy for both Halloween and Christmas.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Again, maybe I’m in the minority but given a choice I would pick the classic theme.

The one bummer of the day was the Pirates of the Caribbean ride was closed for maintenance. Why couldn’t it have been It’s a Small World or something equally as lame? I asked Tom to illustrate our group’s feelings about this turn of events in the following photo. He should keep his day job.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

We went on the Pooh Corner ride, us and the parents of most of the babies and toddlers in the place.. ha! It was just as lame as most of the kiddie rides but we had to try it at least once. The Heffalumps and Woozles were pretty trippy though, some kind of weird neon acid trip.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

After the ride Chris was thoughtful in his thoughtful spot (he’s getting to be such a good sport in his old age.)

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

In one of the stores they sold beads to make necklaces and key chains. As I can NEVER find anything with Belinda on it I just made my own dammit!

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

And also something in my nick….

Sean made a little something too….

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Let me bring it a little closer….

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Yeah that’s my boy alright… hahahahaha!!

After hitting up all the rides we could (only missed the Matterhorn cos the line got REALLY long later in the day) we checked out a few more stores, took a few last pictures and headed out.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

That night’s dinner was at Maggianos, a restaurant they REALLY ought to open up this way dammit! That is some gooood pasta!

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Here we are waiting with anticipation…

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Not to mention we were coasting on fumes by this point… only having had a quick breakfast and a mediocre and overpriced Mickey Mouse shaped pretzel at the park.

California Trip 2011 - Day 3

Our first of three theme park days over and our bellies full we spent the rest of the evening sipping wine and relaxing, or rather Tom and I did. They stuffed their faces with junk-food and soda while surfing the internet. Well technically Sean surfed while making googly eyes at his girlfriend back home via video chat. Ah young love.

This entry was posted in Famdamily, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Believe in Magic (California Vacation Oct 2011 – Day 3)

  1. Sue says:

    Having visited Disney World in Orlando just a year ago, it’s odd to hear comments about the same rides in Cali. If I were Walt Disney, I’d make them different. But then if I were Walt Disney I’d also be rich…

    • americanuck says:

      I kinda get why they are the same (or similar) gives the experience to both coasts and gives the inbetweeners a choice on which direction to go in. I still think it is a ripoff that I can’t go on the Tower of Terror in California without buying a ticket to Crapifornia Adventure!

Speak to me!

