Goodbye California (California Vacation Oct 2011 – Day 7)

Our last full day in SoCal was dedicated to the boys, Six Flags Magic Mountain was the final amusement park destination of our trip.

When I say it was for the boys I mean it, those rides there are soooo far beyond anything I could tolerate. Many years ago, when Tom’s LA station had their Christmas party at the park,  I tried exactly one ride, the “Viper”. How did that go? Well, I’ll tell ya, I spent the entire ride screaming, my eyes shut tight while simultaneously having my ears boxed by the safety harness and struggling to hold my gorge. That’s how.

While that may be some people’s idea of a good time it isn’t mine yanno? The only entertaining part was listening to a co-worker of Tom’s riding behind us who was, if possible, even more frightened than I was. She was yelling in a very strong New York accent “Ohh my Gawd I’m gonna die!” over and over, particularly when we’d hit a loop. She and I, along with one of the audio ladies spent the rest of the day drinking lemon slush drinks and watching other people on the rides. Momma didn’t raise no fool.

We had scored some discounted tickets by buying them ahead of time through the ticket booth at Universal (it was even cheaper than the online price) which helped to soften the fact we had to pay the same price for me to get in the park ,even though I wouldn’t be taking advantage of any of the rides. Their policy is you’re paying for the whole “experience”.. um other than the rides there isn’t much to experience there in my humble opinion, but whatever.

Magic Mountain is the one place on our agenda that had limited opening due to it being off-season. Their bread and butter would be the school set and I would imagine being most rug-rats are in school during the week days it would behoove them to put their staffing dollars into the weekends or school vacations.  Fortunately for us they were open the Friday not just the weekend.

This park was also the farthest away from our resort so most likely the one to cause the most headaches traffic-wise. The park is located up in Valencia and is fairly close to where Tom used to live. The park was also duded up for Halloween and just like Universal they had some “after hours” fun for the older kids including mazes, zombies and some rides going backwards which if you’re into that kind of thing probably would be pretty darn cool. They also had one pretty big spider crawling up this coaster:

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

Being the official holder of crap (I really should have brought a bigger bag) I was laden down with cellphones, ipods, sunglasses, wallets.. you know all the things that could fly out of one’s hands or pockets at the wrong time.

They made a B-line for some of the newer rides at the front of the park but founds the lines were already 2 hours long on some of them so they quickly bailed and headed over to the first older ride along the route, the Viper (my old nemesis!)

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

Many of the older rides don’t have a good viewing area (one of my pet peeves) so I wasn’t always able to get photos of the guys on the various rides. Tom purposely wore orange so he would hopefully stand out a little on the rides for me as they whizzed by and for the most part it worked.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

What also helped a TON was the rapid-fire picture mode on my newer Canon Elph. As they were zooming by I had managed to snap a dozen or so pics and they turned out pretty darn good. Of course it also meant I had to be fast to change what I was pointing at to get them at different angles and this one was pretty much a fail on my behalf but I did managed to catch the boys there in the front row, even though I did cut off Tom’s head.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

Whenever possible I also made them pose cheesily in front of the ride sign ;)

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

I convinced them to go on the new Green Lantern ride, I mean the thing looked completely bad-ass on the videos I had seen and it would be worth an extra stay in line to ride that vs. the 2+ hours they waited in line the last time we were at the park for the Superman ride which was not worth the hype.

There was definitely a bit of a line but it seemed to move fairly quickly.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

Tom hammed it up for the camera as they finally got to the front of the outdoor line and walked into the staging area of the ride (and they would be out of my view temporarily.)

California Trip 2011 - Day 7
That’s my fella!

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

While I waited I drank my expensive lemon slush drink and watched the reactions of the riders as they disembarked. It seemed the guys were in for a good ride judging by the reactions.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

As a spectator, I have to say the viewing area of this ride rocks. You can see the riders as they get seated and “take off” and also watch from the sidelines as they ride the crazy ride. I could see Chris only as they were seated as Tom and Sean were on the other side but that changed around once they were in the air.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

Because there was a weight imbalance Sean and Tom ended up facing down as the ride climbed and Chris was pointed at the sky. It also meant that Chris didn’t see most of the tumbles he was about to go through.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

Tom was filming the ride from his perspective (his Flip camera is pointed at me at this point and I’m zoomed in to catch him)

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

Here is the vid of them riding that crazy-ass ride!

It was a hit!

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

They went on a few more rides and for the most part waited to get on the front. Here they are again…on another Gotham ride.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

I busied myself reading the magazine I brought along… I am so SMRT!

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

They finally had enough (yay!) and it was time to leave. Naw really it was only a few hours and for the most part I didn’t even notice the time dragging, not like last time. I think it was probably the NICE weather rather than the sickeningly hot temps I had suffered through the summer two years prior. I got SO burnt that time.

Before we left the park I made each boy pose with me, we don’t have many Mamma/Son pictures these days. It is rare to catch them when they’re in a good enough mood to humour me with them either.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

One final group shot and we left the park to hit the road on back.

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

The plan was to grab some water at a local store (we were all pretty thirsty) and then stop and In-N-Out one final time. I drank my entire bottle of water in short order and was doing fine even through some major traffic that is until we got closer to the restaurant. By the time we got there I was almost running cross-legged to the bathroom.

Then! It was time to eat!

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

We got back to the coast just in time to see the sunset, ahhh….

California Trip 2011 - Day 7

All in all a great trip. Like I’ve said this is our last “family” vacation so it was nice to end on a high note. Neither of them were moody this time around and they both participated in the outings with enthusiasm and actually appreciated the fact they were on a pretty damn good and FREE trip. I have a feeling the appreciate will sink in a little deeper when it is their turn to take their own families on vacation one day. From now on the vacations will belong only to Tom and me and will most likely involve some sort of BEACH!

This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

