Coast To Coast

On Sunday I’m heading off on a coast to coast journey, or rather a coast to coast to coast journey.

Yep, I’m starting here in BC, flying to St. John’s Newfoundland, a week later to Halifax Nova Scotia, then back to BC. But not back to Vancouver, well okay yeah for a few days. Then I hop on a smaller than I’m used to plane up to Haida Gwaii (formerly known as the Queen Charlotte Islands). It’s for work, for a big project I’ve been involved in for over a year now. It’s exciting that we’re at this stage, a very important one and I’m looking forward to seeing places I’ve never been before (not to mention hearing the Newfoundland accent), but I’m sure going to miss Tom. We haven’t been apart since we finally got to living in one place. He’s been able to come with me on other business trips, but this one was just not in the stars as he’s pretty tied up at work with his own project.

Anyway, because I’m heading out Sunday and I’m one of the ehem “lucky” ones who have an iPhone5 with a faulty battery, I’m sitting here writing this blog to kill time while the technicians in the Apple store replace it. I have an hour to kill, because really I’ve nothing BETTER to do on a Friday night than sit in my car in a mall parking lot until around 9:00 pm. I’m kind of pissy about the whole thing, having a phone with a bad battery for one, and bad it is, it starts to die pretty quickly without really putting it through any heavy use. Other than that, I made an appointment like a good little iDrone a couple of weeks ago, only to find out they don’t have any batteries in stock. Really? After a recall? Psh.

Anyway I get the email last night, or was it this morning? That my battery has arrived and to come into the Apple store by the 23rd or they give my battery to the next person who needs one. Yeah, not gonna happen because I NEED a phone I can rely on while traveling. Guess what today is? iPhone 6 launch day. GRRREEEEAAAAT timing right? At least I missed the crush of the crazies who sit in line all night to get a new phone. Seriously NOTHING will make me line up all night or for that matter many hours, especially a phone that you can pick up later with no wait. I don’t get the early adopter mentality.

So here I sit tapping away, in the passenger seat of my little Fiat Nate. I know I look weird, but the thought of walking around a mall, or sitting around one even, sounds even less appealing, I can live with the weird stares.

I just realized that yet again my blog is going to be about travel, but at least this time it’s a different kind of travel…

I’m going to try and blog a bit more while I’m away; presuming I’m not wiped out each day. I know that 4.5 hour time difference is going to kick my ass in both directions, but I’m pretty sure the long flight with a stopover in Toronto is going to make me want to fall flat on my face when I get to my hotel. My plane won’t land until 9:40 pm Newfoundland time and I’m sure by then it will FEEL like it. The good thing is that I don’t need to be at work until 10:00 am, so I’ve a chance to get a decent night’s sleep to reset my clock.

Oooh lookie at the time, I’ve only got another five minutes to kill so I’m going to wrap this one up and post it when I get home.

Later, from the far east coast!

This entry was posted in Mind dump, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me!

